queen city yacht club social pages



Home » Social » Awards


Call for Award Nominations

In addition to the awards for racing, several awards are presented for outstanding achievement.  These include:

Parkinson Trophy - Outstanding achievement in open competition (*)

Sportsmanship Trophy - Member exhibiting the most sportsmanlike conduct (*) (**)

QCYC 16-foot Skiff Cup - Most valuable keelboat crew (*)

NYC 16-foot Skiff Cup - Most improved sailor (*)

Jack Albertson Trophy - Outstanding service to the Club (*) (**)

Bobby Norton Plaque - Community service through yachting (*) (**)

Valhalla Trophy - Awarded annually to the yacht with the best cruising log (*)  (***) (****)

Georgina World Cup - Awarded annually to the yacht, which has entered the greatest number of individual ports outside a 25 nautical mile radius from the Club (*)  (***) (****)

*       Only awarded to members of the Club

**      Members of the Board of Directors are not eligible

***    The yacht involved must be a member of the Club's squadron

****   A nomination for the cruising trophies must be accompanied by the yacht's logbook along with the Nomination Form that is submitted by the the member listed in the Club's records as the owner.

NOTE:  Nominations for Senior Club awards must be submitted on the nomination form to the office Attn.: Awards Committee or by email to awards@qcyc.ca by August 31st.

 NOMINATION FORM  (Please complete and submit a separate form for each nominee)

The winners of the following trophies are selected as described

Gayle Kay Trophy - Service to the Learn-to-Sail Program (*) (**) and selected by the Learn-to-Sail Instructors

QCYC Regatta 1904 Special Class - Best Photograph (*) (**) and selected by the Communications Committee from the photographs submitted to them for publication

QCYC Regatta 1905 Special Class - Best Photograph Showing QCYC Spirit (*) (**) and selected by the Communications Committee from the photographs submitted to them for publication

Smooth Bottom Society QCYC - Smoothest Bottom (*) (**)  (***) and selected by the immediate past winner of this award, provided the criteria are met in a given year

All trophies must be returned to the office as soon as possible. Watch for announcements in the QuickClipper when you can returning trophies to the Club.

Past Winners

2023 Awards

2022 Awards

2019 Awards

2018 Awards

2017 Awards

2016 Awards

2015 Awards

2014 Awards

2013 Awards

2012 Awards

2011 Awards

2008 Awards.

2007 Awards

2006 Awards

2005 Awards